By April 28, 2015 Read More →

Toronto Raptors win the 2014-15 Brian McIntyre Media Relations Award

The media relations staff of the Toronto Raptors has won the 2014-15 Brian McIntyre Media Relations Award, which is presented each season to an NBA media relations staff that best exemplifies the standards of professionalism and excellence worthy of acclaim, the Professional Basketball Writers Association announced today.

The Raptors’ full-time media relations staff consists of Director of Media Relations Jim LaBumbard, Manager of Media Relations Roven Yau and Coordinator of Media Relations Phil Summers.

They not only followed the NBA’s 2014-15 media access rules to the letter, but they also continually went above and beyond in assisting the local working media and visiting working media. Along with coach Dwane Casey and the Raptors’ players, LaBumbard, Yau and Summers foster an atmosphere of mutual respect and professionalism with journalists. This atmosphere facilitates informed, accurate coverage of the team in one of North America’s most crowded, most competitive media markets.

The media relations staffs of the Miami Heat, Phoenix Suns, Portland Trail Blazers and Utah Jazz also were finalists for the award.

The Raptors won the award through a vote of PBWA members.

The Raptors are one of the few NBA teams that regularly comply with a league rule that pertains to lower-bowl media seating off the floor of an arena. Toronto’s media relations staff ensures there is a dedicated elevator that helps the media return safely, easily and quickly to the event level of Air Canada Centre.

The Raptors are the third team to win the award twice, joining the Indiana Pacers and Golden State Warriors.

The award is named for Brian McIntyre, the longtime former NBA public relations director.

The PBWA is composed of approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, online outlets and magazines.

Brian McIntyre Media Relations Award winners
2006-07 Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Toronto Raptors
2008-09 Portland Trail Blazers
2009-10 Golden State Warriors
2010-11 Indiana Pacers
2011-12 Milwaukee Bucks
2012-13 Indiana Pacers
2013-14 Golden State Warriors
2014-15 Toronto Raptors

About the Author:

Comments are closed.