By May 1, 2013 Read More →

Kenneth Faried wins 2012-13 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

(Courtesy of the Denver Nuggets)

(Courtesy of the Denver Nuggets)

NEW YORK —  Kenneth Faried of the Denver Nuggets has been voted the 2012-13 winner of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award, named after the second commissioner of the NBA and presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to the player, coach or athletic trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community.

Faried won the NBA’s “Kia Community Assist Award” for February in recognition of his outstanding efforts in the community and his ongoing philanthropic and charitable work, including his efforts to champion equality and bring awareness to the importance of respect and inclusion.

Faried recently became a member of Athlete Ally, an organization that works to encourage acceptance of others and end homophobia in sports. In a show of support for equal rights, he attended the launch party for One Colorado to celebrate the passing of Senate Bill 11, The Colorado Civil Union Act.

Faried also supported the message of inclusion by participating as an honorary coach at the 2013 NBA Cares Special Olympics Unified Sports Basketball Game during NBA All-Star in Houston.

The Nuggets forward has been an integral part of the team’s community outreach efforts this season, having purchased a block of season tickets for distribution to children from Special Olympics Colorado, Denver Public Schools and the Denver Rescue Mission as part of the team’s community ticket program. Faried also joined the giveSPORTS Equipment Drive to provide inspiration and joy for individuals affected by the Colorado wildfires and the tragic shooting at the Aurora movie theater.

As part of the NBA Cares Pediatric Cancer Awareness Campaign, Faried brought smiles to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital patients and families by treating the group to an unforgettable Team Fit clinic. Faried also donated and personally delivered 44 pairs of sneakers to a local middle school basketball team for use during the upcoming season. During his visit, he met with the team to discuss the importance of teamwork, sportsmanship and education.

“Kenneth’s commitment to equality and inclusion is praise-worthy,” said Mary Schmitt Boyer of The Plain Dealer, president of the Professional Basketball Writers Association. “He has reached out to so many areas in need and touched so many different communities in Denver and Colorado that it is only right to celebrate his efforts.”

The PBWA comprises approximately 125 writers who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, Internet services and magazines. Other finalists nominated by PBWA members this year were Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks, Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls, Kyle Korver of the Atlanta Hawks, David Lee of the Golden State Warriors, Jason Terry of the Boston Celtics and Tristan Thompson of the Cleveland Cavaliers.

J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award winners
1974-75 Wes Unseld, Washington Bullets
1975-76 Slick Watts, Seattle SuperSonics
1976-77 Dave Bing, Washington Bullets
1977-78 Bob Lanier, Detroit Pistons
1978-79 Calvin Murphy, Houston Rockets
1979-80 Austin Carr, Cleveland Cavaliers
1980-81 Mike Glenn, New York Knicks
1981-82 Kent Benson, Detroit Pistons
1982-83 Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah Jazz
1984-85 Dan Issel, Denver Nuggets
1985-86 Michael Cooper, Los Angeles Lakers and Rory Sparrow, New York Knicks
1986-87 Isiah Thomas, Detroit Pistons
1987-88 Alex English, Denver Nuggets
1988-89 Thurl Bailey, Utah Jazz
1989-90 Doc Rivers, Atlanta Hawks
1990-91 Kevin Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1991-92 Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers
1992-93 Terry Porter, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Joe Dumars, Detroit Pistons
1994-95 Joe O’Toole, Atlanta Hawks
1995-96 Chris Dudley, Portland Trail Blazers
1996-97 P.J. Brown, Miami Heat
1997-98 Steve Smith, Atlanta Hawks
1998-99 Brian Grant, Portland Trail Blazers
1999-00 Vlade Divac, Sacramento Kings
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Alonzo Mourning, Miami Heat
2002-03 David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
2003-04 Reggie Miller, Indiana Pacers
2004-05 Eric Snow, Cleveland Cavaliers
2005-06 Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
2006-07 Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Chauncey Billups, Detroit Pistons
2008-09 Dikembe Mutombo, Houston Rockets
2009-10 Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia 76ers
2010-11 Metta World Peace, Los Angeles Lakers
2011-12 Pau Gasol, Los Angeles Lakers
2012-13 Kenneth Faried, Denver Nuggets

This press release was written by the NBA

About the Author:

Comments are closed.