By April 25, 2014 Read More →

Frank Vogel receives the 2013-14 Rudy Tomjanovich Award

Frank Vogel of the Indiana Pacers has been voted the 2013-14 winner of the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, which recognizes a coach each season for his cooperation with the media and fans, as well as his excellence on the court, the Professional Basketball Writers Association announced today.

Vogel led the Pacers to a 56-26 record and the top seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs.

PBWA members named five finalists for the award this season. In addition to Vogel, the nominees were the Oklahoma City Thunder’s Scott Brooks, the Toronto Raptors’ Dwane Casey, the Charlotte Bobcats’ Steve Clifford and the Houston Rockets’ Kevin McHale.

The award is named for Rudy Tomjanovich, the former coach of the Houston Rockets and Los Angeles Lakers who always was professional and respectful in his dealings with the media.

The PBWA comprises approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis and work for newspapers, Internet services and magazines.

PBWA members Steve Aschburner of and Candace Buckner of The Indianapolis Star presented the Rudy Tomjanovich Award trophy to Vogel on April 28.

Rudy Tomjanovich Award winners
2010-11 Jerry Sloan, Utah Jazz
2011-12 Doc Rivers, Boston Celtics
2012-13 George Karl, Denver Nuggets
2013-14 Frank Vogel, Indiana Pacers

About the Author:

Comments are closed.