By April 25, 2014 Read More →

Dirk Nowitzki named winner of the 2013-14 Magic Johnson Award

Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks has been selected as the 2013-14 winner of the Magic Johnson Award, which annually recognizes the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public, the Professional Basketball Writers Association has announced.

Nowitzki averaged 21.7 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game and led the Mavericks to a 49-33 record and the eighth seed in the Western Conference playoffs.

PBWA members made five additional players finalists for the award this season: the Miami Heat’s Chris Bosh, the Indiana Pacers’ Paul George, the San Antonio Spurs’ Manu Ginobili, the Houston Rockets’ Dwight Howard and the Memphis Grizzlies’ Zach Randolph.

The Magic Johnson Award was created in 2001. PBWA members thought Earvin “Magic” Johnson of the Los Angeles Lakers was an ideal model for the award.

The PBWA comprises approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis and work for newspapers, Internet services and magazines.

PBWA members Eddie Sefko of The Dallas Morning News and Marc Stein of ESPN presented the Magic Johnson Award trophy to Nowitzki on April 26, during Game 3 of the Mavericks’ playoff game against the San Antonio Spurs.

Magic Johnson Award winners
2000-01 Ray Allen, Milwaukee Bucks
2001-02 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2002-03 Jalen Rose, Chicago Bulls
2003-04 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana Pacers
2004-05 Antawn Jamison, Washington Wizards
2005-06 Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
2006-07 Shane Battier, Houston Rockets
2007-08 Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
2008-09 Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
2009-10 Chris Bosh, Toronto Raptors
2010-11 Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
2011-12 Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2012-13 Shane Battier, Miami Heat
2013-14 Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

Posted in: Magic Johnson Award

About the Author:

Comments are closed.